feature

A Word of Warning from Carley

LaurelHardy

Dear Reader,

If I’ve said it once, I’ve said it million times, and I’ll keep right on saying it: If blogging had been around when I was in junior high school, I would have turned out much more well-adjusted. My version of a Tumblog were the copious photos taped to the inside of my Trapper Keeper and Pee-Chee folders: all of them black and white, and nearly all of them of, well, dead people. I may or may not have absconded with the Cary Grant and Jimmy Stewart biographies from the Pasadena Public Library for the express purposes of such teenage idolatry. (And I may or may not still be on their hit list for having done so.) My parents tolerated and encouraged my drug of choice, surely relieved that I’d fallen prey to black and white celluloid than, shall we say, the hard stuff, protesting only when I overstepped certain sacred household rules: namely, taping over episodes of Sally Jesse Raphael with Laurel and Hardy shorts that I had to wake up at about five in the morning to catch on PBS.

It was a lonely journey, largely, until one day it dawned that there were in fact others on this planet earth who shared similarly taste in film. I began blogging in 2008, establishing a classic film and culture site called The Kitty Packard Pictorial (50 points to Gryffindor if you get the name reference), the same year I started working for a Los Angeles-based film journal, the DGA Quarterly, where I currently serve as editorial assistant, copy and photo editor, and occasional contributing writer. I’m delighted to be here at The Moviola, which I hope lives up to your expectations as well as ours as a no-holds barred resource for film fans to, not only indulge in their respective fandoms, (but to quote cough*French Kiss*cough) ‘to swim in it until your fingers get all pruny.’  My beat will be largely classic film (and yes, that does include everything from the Silents to early Scorsese), but I’ve also a keen interest in contemporary cinema with classical elements.

Consider yourself forewarned.

Cheers,

Carley

Leave a Reply

